Dehumidifier Sizing for Basements
Short answer: A dehumidifier listing states capacity in pints per day, a figure the maker prints under the current U.S. Department of Energy rating procedure. ENERGY STAR's buying guidance recommends a minimum capacity range for a portable unit based on the size of the space and how damp it feels without dehumidification. This article explains those ranges, the three dampness descriptions, the role of ceiling height, and why a new unit can list a smaller pint number than an older one.
What a pint figure means on a basement listing
A dehumidifier listing states capacity in pints per day, a figure the maker prints under the current U.S. Department of Energy rating procedure. The figure describes the amount of water the unit is rated to remove in 24 hours under the rating conditions, not a promise of drying in your particular basement. Read the pint figure on the listing, then read the conditions the maker states next to it on the maker's page.
The word 'basement' in a title is the seller's label for the intended space. Listings also print area figures, such as square feet, and those figures are the seller's own labeling. Treat an area figure as a label, not as a ceiling-height rule. For more on how area figures read next to pint figures, see capacity versus square footage.
ENERGY STAR's recommended capacity ranges
The ENERGY STAR program publishes buying guidance for portable dehumidifiers. The guidance says the capacity you need depends on two factors: the size of the space and the conditions that exist in the space without dehumidification. The guidance recommends using the chart below to estimate the minimum capacity for a portable unit, and it says it is better to oversize than undersize.
The ranges are minimum recommendations from the ENERGY STAR source page. A listing's stated pints are read on the listing; the ranges help you identify which pint group to look at first.
The chart is for portable units. Whole-house units are a separate category; the ENERGY STAR page says whole-home dehumidifiers are typically installed to use the home's air ducts and are often permanent.
| Condition without dehumidification | Room under 2,000 sq ft | Room over 2,000 sq ft |
|---|---|---|
| Slightly to moderately damp: the space feels damp and may have a musty odor | 20 to 30 | 30 and up |
| Very damp: the space consistently feels and smells damp; damp spots show on walls or floors | 25 to 40 | 40 and up |
| Wet: walls or floor sweat, or seepage is present | 30 to 50 | 50 and up |
Matching the dampness level on your basement
The three descriptions in the chart are conditions you observe before buying: how the space feels, whether a musty odor appears, whether damp spots show on walls or floors, and whether walls or floors sweat. Match your basement to one of the descriptions, then read the recommended range next to it.
For guidance on mold and moisture in your home, read the EPA mold pages and the CDC mold page. A dehumidifier choice is a shopping decision about listings; mold and moisture guidance is a separate topic covered by those pages.
Ceiling height without a formula
The ENERGY STAR chart uses floor area, not ceiling height. A taller basement holds more air, so you may consider that when you compare listings, but no rating table in the sources adds pints for extra height. Read the maker's stated area figure on the maker's page, and if a maker explains how a taller space changes its recommendation, read that note there.
Ceiling height also affects how air moves through the room. A listing that names a higher area figure is a label; your own situation is a question to weigh, not a number the listing guarantees. For the difference between a label and a claim, see square footage versus pints per day.
Why a new unit can list a smaller pint number
The U.S. Department of Energy finalized new energy conservation standards for dehumidifiers that took effect in June 2019, and the rating procedure changed in 2020. The new procedure measures portable dehumidifiers at 65°F, a temperature chosen to resemble a basement setting.
Because cooler air holds less moisture, a unit rated under the current procedure can list a smaller pint number than a comparable older model. This article does not convert old figures to new figures; read the pint number on the current listing and check the maker's page for the conditions stated next to it.
A listing or maker page may name 2 pint figures because one comes from an older rating and one from the current rating. When that happens, read the figure the maker labels with the current procedure.
Pint groups as shopping tiers
This site sorts its buying guides by the stated pint groups on the listings: the 50 to 99 pint group, the 100 pint group, and a high capacity group. Those groups are shopping tiers built from listed figures, not measured performance claims.
A tier label helps you compare listings side by side, but the numbers on the listings come from the makers under the DOE rating procedure. When a listing does not state a pint figure or a dampness condition, treat that as missing detail and read the maker's page.
Basement, crawl space, and whole house guides
A basement is one of several damp spaces in a home. If the space you are planning for is a crawl space, read the crawl space guide for the crawl-space listing terms. If the unit is part of a whole house system, the whole house guide covers that category.
The main dehumidifier guide sorts picks by stated details such as pints per day and drain type. For a basement with no floor drain near the unit, the pump guide covers listings whose title says a pump comes with the unit. The large space guide covers listings aimed at larger areas.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You have a basement with no floor drain near the unit | A listing whose title says a pump comes with it | Best Dehumidifiers with Pump in 2026: 15 Picks by Stated Details |
| Your basement is consistently damp and larger than 2,000 sq ft, by your own measurement | A listing in the higher pint groups rated under the current DOE procedure | Best 50 to 99 Pint Dehumidifiers 2026: 14 Picks by Stated Details |
| Your basement is very large or feels wet, with walls or floor sweating | The high capacity group | Best High Capacity Dehumidifier (2026): 8 Picks by Stated Details |
| The space you plan to dehumidify is a crawl space, not a full basement | The crawl space guide | Best Crawl Space Dehumidifier (2026): 15 Picks by Stated Details |
| You plan a whole house system instead of a portable unit | The whole house guide | Best Whole House Dehumidifier (2026): 10 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want to compare portable units across pint groups and drain types | The main dehumidifier guide | Best Dehumidifier (2026): Picks by Pints per Day and Drain |
Questions
How many pints per day does a basement dehumidifier need?
ENERGY STAR's buying guidance recommends a minimum capacity range based on the size of the space and how damp it feels without dehumidification. The range is in the table in this article, from the ENERGY STAR source page. A listing's pint figure is the seller's number under the current DOE rating; read the maker's page for the conditions stated next to it.
Does ceiling height change the pint choice?
No listing or source table here adds pints for ceiling height. A taller basement holds more air, so you may weigh that as a shopping consideration, but the published ranges use floor area.
Why does my new unit list fewer pints than my old one?
DOE changed the rating procedure in 2020 to measure portable units at 65°F, a temperature chosen to resemble a basement. Cooler air holds less moisture, so the new figure can be smaller. Read the current listing's figure rather than comparing it to the old one.
What does the ENERGY STAR label mean on a dehumidifier?
ENERGY STAR is a voluntary program run by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. A unit that carries the label has met the program's criteria; the program also publishes the buying guidance quoted in this article.
What if a listing shows no pint figure?
Treat it as missing detail and read the maker's page. If the maker does not state a figure, the listing may be for parts or an accessory rather than a full unit.
Where do I get guidance on mold and moisture in my home?
Read the EPA mold pages and the CDC mold page.
Recent updates
- : First published.